January 12, 2010

Today marked two years since the earthquake in Haiti that forever changed so many lives including my own.  I spent 6 months of 2010 in Haiti involved in the post-earthquake relief effort and part of me will never be the same.  Here’s a link to the blog that I kept while I was there.  One of the biggest motivators that I have for putting on this race is to raise money for some worthy projects in Haiti.  While this year our goal is to break even with the event, part of me still has hope that we can earn enough to put in a composting toilet at a tent city near where I lived in Haiti.  Composting toilets are one thing that I saw make a palpable difference amidst some of the worst conditions that I witnessed there.  They address two major problems facing the country- improper disposal of sewage and depleted soil.  Here’s a look at composting toilets in Haiti, including one that we put in at the school and orphanage I was working with.   We will work through Give Love each year to put in composting toilets in the Zion 100′s name.  I wish that we could have composting toilets at the Zion 100, they are nearly odorless and so much more pleasant than the port-a-potties that you typically have to use at most running events.

We’ll also be giving back to the local community here in southern Utah.  Each aid station is being manned by a different organization such as local cross country teams and boy scout troops and in exchange for their services, we make a donation to either their organization or a charity of their choice.  Donations will also be made to the Dixie Amateur Radio Club, Washington County Search and Rescue, and the Bureau of Land Management.

3 responses to “January 12, 2010

  1. Thank you for sharing this information with us. It is wonderful to hear about your experience in Haiti and your continued desire to give back and make a difference. As a volunteer on several international Habitat for Humanity trips and as a participant in this year’s Zion 100, it makes me feel good to know I am supporting an event that has an interest in helping others. Good luck with everything and I look forward to seeing you in May!

    • Thanks, Jody. I knew there had to be runners out there with similar experiences and was hoping to make some connections. I think that running is one way a lot of us deal with pain/suffering when life when it gets to be too much. It makes the beating we put ourselves through on these ultras easier to handle in comparison to what we’ve witnessed and gives us time to sort things out in our minds.

  2. This is incredible. I read the entire Haiti blog from start to finish. I got goosebumps and felt sick to my stomach seeing their suffering. I was reminded again that we take much for granted, and we have so much to be thankful for. What a worthy cause!

Leave a Reply

